Privacy and Social Media

Standard

privacy-infographic-top

I personally recheck my privacy settings every time I see through the news that there has been an update. One of the platforms that changes the most frequently is Facebook. I think they do a great job of sending a prompt when you sign in next to remind people of a new profile change, it always makes me wonder why they don’t prompt people to double check their privacy settings. I think a big part of it is that they want to share the information that is “public” at the time to create algorithms and sell the information.

If this platform and other platforms sent out notifications when they were changing their privacy policy, I think it would prompt people to be more in tune with what is going on and check it out. I personally always keep my settings on public, so I don’t feel a need to change things, but for people who are concerned with their privacy, it is important to be aware of this.

I personally don’t think that it is ethical for reporters to reach out to people through their social media sites, but it doesn’t surprise me that it happens. I think that reporters for the most part feel that they have to get the story and don’t mind reaching out to people on social media in order to do so. And truthfully, should they feel any differently? They shouldn’t, because if people don’t want to be reached, they shouldn’t post things on the internet. By putting things on social media, people are already allowing themselves to be found and searched and their information seen.

While people post whatever they want to social media platforms, they still feel that what they post is their own property, so I think that it is important to not reprint something even if it has been posted publicly. I think people should be warned before their content is used as far as ethical reasoning but to be honest, I don’t know if it has to happen. At this point, people should know that everything that they share online or on any mobile device is out for everyone to see and that they can trust no one. This would mean that whatever people post they would actually have the presence of mind to see that it could get reposted or used in an article.

My blog has been shared and written about and I am thrilled every time that happens! I know that what I am posting is online and I love when I get more exposure through someone else sharing my work. I think that if people had more presence of mind when they posted and thought of the possible repercussions, they might think twice before posting which would probably make this less of an issue.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

