How I would respond..

Standard

Screen Shot 2014-06-15 at 12.54.02 AM

This week I will be deciding how to respond to the two quotes. I have decided to respond to both since I feel that people should be acknowledged when they reach out to you. I think that while I do not appreciate people who approach me by cursing, it still warrants a response, especially since sometimes when you don’t respond you just fuel the fire and make people feel justified in their anger. Sometimes you won’t change anyone’s mind when they are already upset, but at least they and others will know that you are listening and trying.

Number 1:

I am disgusted about the state of your store on 1467 Justin Kings Way. The counter was smeared in what looked like grease and the tables were full of trash and remains of meals. It makes me wonder what the state of your kitchen is?!!! Gross.”

I completely understand why you would feel this way about horrible conditions. I would like to contact you to get more information and I would like to investigate this further. If you can direct message me your information I would like to connect so that I can get to the bottom of this. Thank you for reaching out to us about this matter.

By responding in this manner, I want the person to get the point that I would like to resolve the matter and that I would like to find out more. The person feels heard and the company doesn’t look as though they are ignoring anyone.

Number 2:

Your reporting on the Middle East is biased in the extreme. You gave almost all your air time to spokespeople for the Israelis last night and there was no right to reply for the Palestinians. The conflict upsets me so much and your reporting of it, saddens me even more and makes me f**king furious.

I want to start off by saying that I don’t appreciate this type of language on my site, and if you continue in this way, I will begin deleting posts. After reading your comment and outrage, I took a look at the footage and I believe that we made every effort to have both sides debated. I am sorry to hear that this conflict upsets you, but I understand that this is a controversial issue. If you would like to continue this conversation, I would suggest taking a closer look at the video again and really seeing if we were biased. Thank you for your comment.

While this may be upsetting to the person who wrote the original comment, it is a good way to make sure that they understand that the cursing will not be tolerated and the comments will be deleted if the comments continue. I think that it is also a good way to empathize that it is a controversial topic, but that I believe the reporting was fair. I do not expect a great outcome from this person since they are already fired up, but sometimes it is best to comment and then ignore. After the original comment there is no need to continue and debate.

2 responses »

  1. I really like how you dealt with the restaurant complaint. The TV example is more complex and I will reveal more very soon!

Leave a Reply

