Flying Into Trouble

Standard

Screen Shot 2014-06-08 at 6.51.40 PMI remember hearing about the man who took out an ad against British Airways. What should British Airways do? I honestly don’t know. I don’t think they can complain to Twitter since it was a valid tweet and a valid complaint. While they did apologize, I don’t know what they can do. At some point it came out that this man paid $1000.00 to promote this tweet. While I do think they should do something, such as offer him a new flight first class, I don’t know if that really is the right thing to do. I also don’t think they should only have someone manning the social media from 9am-5pm when they have flights at all different times. I also think that this man was so angry at this point that even if they had offered a flight, I don’t know if it would even fix anything, but it would have saved face with other customers.

Whether or not they lost this customer, by offering compensation it would have shown other customers how they at least tried to handle the situation. I think it is important when dealing with a customer service issue to even address what you don’t know. I don’t always know who I should be reaching out to for information since I am new, but I respond and ask for email so that I can reach out to the proper person on their behalf. I think setting the expectation of someone getting back to them this week is also helpful since they know they will not be getting an email back in 4 hours.

This song is hilarious, but the fact that Dave felt the need to write this, should really astonish the company. I think in both cases that ethically leaving their customers feeling as though they don’t care, is wrong. While they may not have realized just how important customer relations are, especially now that social media has become a forum for people to voice their good and bad experiences.

Leave a Reply

