People I Trust..

Standard

Two people that have gained my trust on Instagram are MShell and Erin Morgan. Both of these women have done different things that have earned my trust through their pages. First of all, I am interested in health and fitness and both of them are focused on that area as well.

MShell:

Screen Shot 2014-05-25 at 10.42.34 PM

I follow and trust this woman because she has proven time and again how honest she is. She is funny, honest and really shows people the struggles that she goes through physically, emotionally and mentally when working on her body and deciding if she was going to compete in a show or not. Does she gain anything from it? No, not unless I decide to become a client, which at some point I might do, or if I decide to purchase some of her clothing, something else I might do. However, she does not know what her followers will do and she gives them shout outs and reaches out to connect with them anyway. That is one of the reasons I really do trust her, since she gives her followers an honest portrayal of her life.

 

Erin Morgan:

Screen Shot 2014-05-25 at 10.43.18 PM

I trust Erin because she constantly shows what she does and gives hints and tips for people to follow. I think that she is always honest about her struggles and frustrations when it comes to being healthy and losing weight, and I value that. She does not gain anything from me unless I become a client of hers, which I don’t think I will, but she does provide her followers with motivation and tips whether or not they are her clients.

 

Both of these women are people that I would like to emulate, which is one of the reasons I trust them and believe in what they do. If I wasn’t interested in what they were posting about, or if I thought they were being fake or dishonest, I would stop following them immediately. I would also stop following them if I felt that they were only self promoting. However, that is not the case. A benefit they do get from me, without even knowing it, is that when people ask me who I follow for health tips, I automatically recommend them. Word of mouth is still an important tool and it can help increase followers on a regular basis. It is important to remember that human face to face interaction can translate into a gain on social media at any time.

6 responses »

  1. Great examples, Amanda. I think your examples prove a really good point about social media… If you show people you are a “real” person, people will trust you. It’s easy to relate with someone you feel is being truthful and for lack of a better term “keeping it real.” Whenever people get so self-righteous or brag too much they lose me. If they seem to have similar struggles or challenges that I have I can relate to them and therefore care more about their content. We all have bad and good days. It’s nice to see when people on social media celebrate their victories, reflect on their losses, or provide advice on issues.

    When it comes to health and wellness, I agree following someone who seems like a “real” person is key to recommending those people in the future (whether via social media or word-of-mouth). We may not all look like Michelle Davis, but her posts and content can help us stay motivated or inspired. It’s not always about the physical aspect of being healthy, but the mental and emotional struggle many of us deal with. Following someone like Michelle can help people stay positive and committed to a more healthy lifestyle.

    • Hi Laura,
      I really do love following Michelle and Erin. I know I may never achieve what she does because I don’t have the determination she does, but I really do think that she is great and that she does a great job motivating other people with all of her posts. She is able to not only inspire people, but she also gets results! Right now she has had a #donutswithmshell campaign going since she wanted one after a show and received over 700 posts about it! She is having them printed and starting a donut wall with all of the pictures. That kind of generosity and outreach is incredible and is just one more reason I follow her. She really does inspire people, but she also really connects with them, doesn’t just speak to them. Thanks for commenting!

  2. Hey Amanda,

    Thanks for sharing their information. I’m also interested in health and fitness, so it’s always great to find more people to follow who share the same passions. It’s great that both women provide great tips and honesty for their followers. Let’s get real, as much as I love being in shape and feeling good about myself, every day that I go to the gym or go for a run isn’t all rainbows and butterflies! There are days that I feel exhausted and it takes all my mental and physical strength to force my butt off the couch and go run in the Florida heat. The fact that you said Erin Morgan and MShell share their struggles as well as their successes is enough to make me want to follow them. They both showcase a realness, and I think that’s why a lot of people follow and trust them. Great post!

    • Hi Lauren,
      I totally understand how you feel, since I feel the same! What amazes me is that while Erin is losing weight for her health and wanting to be more fit, Michelle loses weight and competes which is a completely different mental struggle that I never even knew about. I really do appreciate learning more about their struggles since it makes me feel better about my own, and I do have many! I am glad you are interested, and I hope you follow them! It really has been great learning more about the struggles as I go through them since it makes me feel like I am not alone. Thanks for commenting!

  3. Hi Amanda,

    Maybe the missing element of trust in the trust formula is the “keeping it real” factor, or the fact that people who are open about when they slip up or make a mistake suddenly makes them more trustworthy. If all I saw was “perfect” photos of “perfect” people all the time, particularly in the health and fitness space, I wouldn’t believe that person one bit. When someone faces a struggle but continues to push on, that makes them more motivating and trustworthy. Nice post, those are good examples of trustworthy people on social media!

    • Hi Lexi,
      That is a great point. Maybe you are right and that would change the formula completely and would make a big difference. I think that people who are able to admit their flaws are usually the most comfortable with themselves and are willing to admit that they are not perfect. When people are not only admitting to different struggles that they go through, but also having the confidence to admit that publicly on social media is always impressive. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

