Ways to Make Sure Your LinkedIn Profile Stands Out

Standard

Screen Shot 2013-09-17 at 10.52.54 PMBefore doing the readings for this week, I thought I had a decent LinkedIn profile. I had 257 connections, a decent picture, experiences listed, and had been endorsed for various skills. I have even had head hunters reach out to me based on my profile, and yet, as LinkedIn grows in popularity, we need to find more ways to stand out and my profile doesn’t make the cut. I learned that I need to add a headline with keywords as well as a summary. I would look at the side circle that tells you how your profile is doing, and when it said my profile strength was all-star, I believed it.

I was wrong. Now, I knew enough to not have my Facebook or Twitter status updates link to my professional page, but really I didn’t know more than that. Until today. Libby Kane makes a few great points on how to improve interaction and profiles on LinkedIn. For instance, she talks about making sure there is a picture on your profile, and to have a status update every few days. Not one where you talk about a party you went to, but talk about what you are working on at work. Even if it is about a meeting you learned a lot at, it is always beneficial to keep your content fresh and let people know what is going on with you professionally.

Another big part of being on LinkedIn, is protecting your profile and reputation. Viveka talks more about how to ensure that you are able to maintain your identity online. She specifically talks about making sure that you add all of your emails to your profile so that you can make sure no one can set up a fake account in your name. I was shocked to see this, but truthfully it makes a lot of sense. There is a lot of personal information on these pages, first job, high school you graduated from, lots of things that identify you but if it is stolen your entire identity may be at risk.

Screen Shot 2013-09-17 at 11.18.09 PMOn the left is a partial picture of a great infographic called, Job Hunting? by Reed Marketing and Creative. The picture makes a lot of great points including the fact that even if you don’t post anything too personal on your LinkedIn, don’t think you can post photos of incriminating behavior on other sites and it won’t be found. With the internet becoming more and more accessible, a good rule of thumb is thinking that every social media site is open to any viewers. Even if you have strict privacy settings on, the truth is anyone can screenshot your information or save a photo to their own computer, so you never really know what happens to the information that you put out there.

Making sure that you keep an eye on what gets out on any of your social media profiles will help you fine tune what is seen on all platforms and will help you build your brand. Another great point was made by Lewis Howes, is to “make a call to action.” He makes a great point that even if you make a great profile, if you don’t tell people to get in touch with you, or tell them to contact you for more information, they won’t. I think that is a great idea and after learning all of these things I will be spending time creating a much better LinkedIn profile for myself.

What about you? How will you update your profile with all of the new information on how to improve your LinkedIn profile? Do you agree that people should monitor all of their social media sites and keep them all semi-professional, or do you think on other sites you should be able to post whatever you want? Chime in and let me know!

2 responses »

  1. Hello Amanda,
    The first thing I did to update my profile was to change my headline and summary. I know with a lot of social media platforms, especially LinkedIn, first impressions play a huge role. I think the one thing I lack is a “professional” photo, similar to our professor, Adam B. I feel like prior to even reading about someone’s experience, they have to be turned on by your headline and your summary.
    As far as maintaining professionalism on “all” social media sites, I don’t like it. Sadly, I think you have to remain at least semi-professional on all of them because they are basically linked together in one way or another. I wish employers would solely judge you on experience and work ethic and leave your personal life outside of the workplace alone. Nowadays, this isn’t likely to happen, so keeping everything at least semi-professional will ensure nothing to “crazy” can harm your chances of an employment opportunity.
    Great post and your blog appearance and navigation are stellar, this has inspired me to make changes to mine.

  2. Hi Gavin,

    I am glad you like the blog! It was hard to find one that I could modify, and this is my first blog so I appreciate the compliment. I like yours too, I think that picture is fabulous! I do agree that it is somewhat sad that your private profiles aren’t private. I for one am not going to go back and delete every comment that is inappropriate that I made in 2005, so I can only hope people will forgive stupidity as youth and focus on how I present myself today. I did make sure to delete any photos that I wouldn’t want any of my mom’s former students to see, which is basically how I gauge things. But part of who I am, is my personality, I don’t hide it when I am in an interview and I don’t want to hide it on social media platforms. I agree that staying semi-professional may be the way to go. Thanks for chiming in!

Leave a Reply

